Author: David and others (date of writing: c.1000-700 B.C.)

Title: The English title of this book is derived from the Greek word Psalmoi (“songs”), the name given to the book in the Septuagint. The Hebrew title is Tehillim (“praises”).

Summary: The Psalms are divided into five books, each according to a specific classification. The Psalms are a form of Hebrew poetry, and many were originally meant to be accompanied by music. The content of the Psalms includes Messianic prophecy, praise to God and visions of the future Kingdom and its Glory. David is named as author of approximately half of the Psalms. A handful of others are responsible for approximately fifteen, while the authorship of the remaining Psalms is unknown.


BOOK I: Psalms 1-41

  • Concerns man: the counsel of God to man

BOOK II: Psalms 42-72

  • Concerns Israel: the counsel of God to Israel

BOOK III: Psalms 73-89

  • Concerns the sanctuary and the Law

BOOK IV: Psalms 90-106

  • Concerns Israel and the nations

BOOK V: Psalms 107-150

  • Concerns God and His Word