Author: Moses (date of writing: c.1440-1400 B.C.).

Period: c.1440-1400 B.C.

Title: “Leviticus” is the Latin form of the Greek word Leuitikon, the title given to this book in the Septuagint. The word means “pertaining to the Levites.” The Hebrew title is taken from the first word of the book: wayyiqra’ (“And he [the LORD] called . . .”).

Summary: The third book of the Pentateuch takes its name from one of the twelve sons of Jacob, Levi, whose family was ordained by God to minister to Him as priests. The book covers the laws of the Israelites regarding worship and religious activities, both personal and national, including the Day of Atonement and sacrificial offerings. It contains laws regarding cleanliness, morality, ethics and hygiene that pertained to the people of Israel on a day-to-day basis. Animal sacrifice was introduced as an atonement for the individual and national sins of the people.


ACCESS: Sacrifice as the basis of fellowship: Chapter 1:1 -17:16

  • The offerings (propitiation): 1:1 – 6:7
  • The priesthood (mediation): 6:8 – 10:20
  • The people (purification): 11:1 – 16:34
  • The altar (reconciliation): 17:1-16

WALK: Obligations of fellowship (separation): Chapter 18:1 – 27:34

  • Regulations for the people: 18:1 – 20:27
  • Regulations for the priests: 21:1 – 22:33
  • Regulations for the nation: 23:1 – 24:23
  • Regulations for the land: 25:1 – 27:34