Author: Moses (date of writing: c.1440-1400 B.C.).

Period: c.1520-1440 B.C.

Title: “Exodus” is the Latin form of the Greek word Exodos, the title given to this book in the Greek Septuagint. The word means “exit,” “departure” or “a going out.” The Hebrew title is taken from the first two words of the book: we’elleh shemoth (“These are the names of . . .”).

Summary: Exodus records the great numerical growth of the Israelites during their enslavement in Egypt. It introduces Moses and records the plagues God brought upon Egypt to secure His peoples’ release from the bondage of slavery. From this point, the people are given the proclamations of the covenant of the Law at Mount Sinai. The book concludes with a description of the order of worship centred around the Tabernacle and the Law of Moses. This is the second book of the Pentateuch, the first five books of the Hebrew Scriptures.


The liberation of Israel: Chapter 1:1 – 18:27

  • Introduction: 1:1-7
  • Bondage in Egypt: 1:8-22
  • Preparation of the deliverer: 2:1 – 4:31
  • The mission of Moses to Pharaoh: 5:1 – 7:7
  • God’s wonders in the land of Egypt: 7:8 – 11:10
  • The Passover and the departure of Israel: 12:1 – 15:21
  • Israel in the wilderness: 15:22 – 18:27

Israel at Sinai: Chapters 19:1 – 40:38

  • Establishment of the covenant at Sinai: 19:1 – 24:11
  • Directions for the Tabernacle and the priesthood: 24:12 – 31:18
  • The Covenant broken and restored: 32:1 – 34:35
  • Building of the Tabernacle: 35:1 – 39:43
  • Erection and consecration of the Tabernacle: 40:1-38