Author: John, one of the twelve apostles, described as the disciple “whom Jesus loved” (John 13:23). This apostle also wrote 1, 2 and 3 John, and recorded the book of Revelation. His name (Hebrew Yochanan) means “The Lord is gracious.”

Period: 4 B.C. – 30 A.D.

Summary: The book of John was written in order that men and women might believe that Jesus is the Son of God. John cites eight signs to establish and prove this point culminating in the resurrection of the Lord Jesus. John is the only book of the four Gospels that does not record any parables; instead John emphasizes Jesus as the manifestation of God. John’s account of the Gospel was the last to be written, and contains much more spiritual language than the synoptics. The Bible reader, upon recognizing this, will employ additional discernment while reading the highly spiritual and metaphorical language found in John’s Gospel account.


Key Verse: “. . . these are written that you may believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, and that believing you may have life in His name.” John 20:31

Unique Features: There are many key words in John’s Gospel, and dominant throughout is the word “believe,” which occurs over eighty times. The word, however, implies a belief that has developed into faith or conviction. As such, this Gospel was written for believers. They are enabled thereby to perceive the inner-strength of Jesus, and to see that it stemmed from a greater than he, even God. Another peculiarity is the frequent use of the word “Jew.” It is only found once in Matthew, twice each in Mark and Luke, but over sixty times in John. John concerns himself more with the Judean ministry that Matthew and Mark hardly touch upon, and he records only eight miracles (which he terms “signs”) that set in sequential order the whole purpose of God in Christ.


From everlasting: Chapter 1:1-18

  • God before Christ: 1:1-8
  • God in Christ: 1:9-18

God manifest in the flesh: Chapter 1:19 -19:42

  • In the world: 1:19 -12:50
  • To his own: 13:1 -17:26
  • On the cross: 18:1-19:42

To everlasting: Chapter 20:1- 21 :25

  • Abiding life: 20:1-18
  • Abiding light: 20:19-31
  • Abiding love: 21:1-25